Premed 101 Forums

Graduating this year, no interviews, what now?

sportsMD23

Hi all,

I am in my last year of undergrad and I will be graduating after this term. Unfortunately, I did not receive any interviews this cycle (only applied to 1 school as my MCAT was AWFUL).

My plan is to rewrite MCAT this summer but I am not sure what to do afterwards while I wait for upcoming application cycles.

I am torn between 3 options which are working full-time (unrelated to medicine), research assistant part-time, or pursuing 2-year Masters (thinking of Public Health). These options will all begin in September after I re-write the MCAT.

Pros of working full-time

-make some money

-get real-world and valuable life experience

-can apply again next cycle

Cons of working full-time

-not many opportunities for career growth and development in this job

Pros of part-time research

-possibility of publishing, posters, presentations etc

-make money although less than full-time

-can apply again next cycle

Cons

-not many hours compared to full-time

-this research assistant position is in a field that I am not interested in

Pros of doing Masters

-get another degree (opens up many doors after graduation)

-possibility of publishing, posters, presentations etc

-can continue extracurriculars/volunteering on campus to improve my application

Cons

-can't apply next cycle

-research isn't really my passion

Stats: cGPA: 3.98

MCAT: 128/LOL/128/128

ECs: I'd say average? It is a mix of research (no pubs/no presentations), community/campus involvement, clinical experience, student council, TA, a few academic and research awards/scholarships, on-campus jobs, intramurals etc...

I apologize for the long post but I would appreciate any advice and recommendations!

Thanks everyone!