Premed 101 Forums

Peds elective at Sick Kids - general or subspec?

I have the option of a general inpatient peds elective or peds heme onc elective at SickKids. I am a visiting student and U of T peds is definitely high on my list for preferred residency programs, partly because I would really like to be home with my family. I guess this means a reference letter is very important for this elective. I've heard gen peds is better because you get to meet residents, gen peds faculty etc who are involved in the selection process. However I worry that it's harder to stand out and do well on a big team and I'm worried about having to compete with a bunch of other students if it's a CTU elective (is it CTU? Can anyone confirm?)

Heme onc is cool because it's just one area to learn about, instead of literally everything like it would be in gen peds, but I worry the pts might be too complex for my level and it'll be harder to excel. Also worried about the fact that there are fellows, residents etc so not sure how much I'll get to do/learn.

Has anyone done these electives? Any input would be greatly appreciated.

39 minutes ago, _gettingthere_ said:

I have the option of a general inpatient peds elective or peds heme onc elective at SickKids. I am a visiting student and U of T peds is definitely high on my list for preferred residency programs, partly because I would really like to be home with my family. I guess this means a reference letter is very important for this elective. I've heard gen peds is better because you get to meet residents, gen peds faculty etc who are involved in the selection process. However I worry that it's harder to stand out and do well on a big team and I'm worried about having to compete with a bunch of other students if it's a CTU elective (is it CTU? Can anyone confirm?)