Premed 101 Forums

Recommendation require for 2nd UG

Hi all,

I need ur suggestions badly...

I did my 1st undergrad n masters from pakistan in commerce with CGPA 3.90 and 3.80 respectively out of 4.00 (assessed by WES,World education system)

Now for 2nd undergrad i choose computer science n will take some science courses optional to complete med school requirement

I applied in Ryerson,York and university of windsor, what should be my choice for getting high CGPA for medical school??

Also will it be a problem for me that i am not doing my 2nd undergrad in any life science discipline??

And can i apply to med school after completing my 2 years in my UG program??

Regards,

K. Siddiqui

Why are you taking a 2nd undergrad ?  Your current undergrad cGPA of 3.9 is competitive at a number of schools.

Most Canadian Med schools other that Ottawa do not have science prerequisites.  You may be able to self-study for the MCAT.

Choose a program that you think you can do well GPA-wise.

Do you have Canadian citizenship or permanent resident status ?

I am canadian PR holder.

I applied to second undergrad because here people say that med school will prefer a degree holder from any canadian university

Not from Pakistan...

I am afraid to maintain a good CGPA as now i have three kids (2 toddlers n 1 infant)

So thats why asking which university will be better for me??