Premed 101 Forums

Eligibility for wGPA

I completed my undergraduate degree at UCLA, CA, U.S.A. and our school applies quarter system.

I entered UCLA as freshman in September, 2016 and graduated as a senior student in March 20th, 2020. Each regular quarter, I enrolled as a full-time student

UCLA requires 180 units to graduate and I completed 185 units by the time I graduated. However, I graduated one quarter early (I took 3 courses in the summer session in the summer of 2019 and then I graduated in Winter quarter of my senior year). Will I still be eligible for wGPA?

At UCLA, one courses has 4 credits on average and there are 3 regular quarters in each academic year. Based on what I calculated, 3 courses in our school is equivalent to 1 FCE.) To remove the lowest 4 FCEs, does that mean I can remove 12 course grades?

1.       If this is not correct and I am eligible for wGPA, to remove “the lowest four FCEs”, how many courses are removed?

2.      Also, will the grades from my summer session counts towards wGPA since they also count towards my 185 units completion?

Since your school uses a different system than most Canadian universities which use semesters, and most of us are unqualified to tell you yes or no, I would suggest contacting admissions if you have not already.

Typically summer courses are not taken into consideration for wGPA eligibility and applicants must maintain a full course load in their regular school year. If by doing the summer session the course load in the normal academic year was reduced, then you might not be eligible. I can't tell based on this information if that is your situation, but admissions will be able to address your inquiry.