Premed 101 Forums

9 hours ago, theUBCmedhopeful said:

With the whole COVID-19 situation going on, a lot of my extracurricular activities (summer research, volunteering) have been put on hold. As a third year UG I was planning on applying for this year's cycle (MED 2025), but I'm slowly deciding against it as I've basically got little to none volunteering experience (I was hoping to have at least 100 hours by the end of June, but will probably have way way less than that by the cutoff date). Will I be hugely disadvantaged? Apart from volunteering, I have extensive employment experience in research during my undergrad (have authored two articles), along with ~4 years of employment since high-school, a few life experiences (coming from a low SES family and having to work, being involved the care of a family member suffering from disability and being exposed to medicine from a very young age due to my family member's condition) and on-campus involvement. I feel that I do have a half-decent mix of extracurricular activities, but I'm scared that I've not been involved long enough for some of my volunteer activities and that the adcoms will simply see me as a resume padder focused on quantity over quality. 

I have a GPA of ~90-91. Realistically, do you guys think I can expect an interview this December? I know it's a pretty common question asked on this forum but it'd be great if someone has some insight. 

Also, do you guys think that the adcoms will give some leeway to applicants this year due to this whole situation?

For the volunteering part, there are associations (in quebec but probably everywhere in canada) that need people to contribute in advice phone lines (about covid) or just to talk with people that call and are stressed due to the pandemic. Some volunteering work can include being paired with an elderly person from a group home and call them 4 times a week for about 20 min to cheer them up as they have no visitors.