Premed 101 Forums

Love in the Time of C[OVID-19]holera

Guys I Need Help

Hey everyone,

Long story short, I am a first-year med student (M) looking for relationship advice regarding my classmate (F).

Why would I go on Premed 101 for that, you might ask? Well, here are my reasons:

1. Fellow med students (or students in general) may be able to better understand my situation and maybe a few people could even relate.
  2. I am not comfortable talking about this with anyone I know.
  3. Because why not post something different to distract everyone here from the daily worries about the pandemic, cancelled summer plans, and med school admission results?

So anyway, here is my story:

In March, I broke up with my long-term girlfriend. We were together since the first year of undergrad and this was my first serious relationship. Things have been really crappy for a while before we broke up, so I was feeling miserable right from the beginning of my first year of med school. I was generally quiet and detached in class and was not very keen on doing social things with my classmates all year.

Months went by and, at one point, I developed feelings for one of my classmates. We were in the same group for a few things, so we talked and worked together several times. We didn't really become friends after this, but we have been smiling at each and saying hi (or sometimes stopping to chat) when seeing each other on campus.

At first, I didn’t really do anything about it, because I was still technically in a relationship. That said, when I became single once again, I realized that I actually don't really know anymore how to flirt, ask out, or date (lol). In addition to that, I was always bad at seeing whether someone is interested in me or not. So anyway, here I was, feeling like an awkward teenager, not really sure how to shoot my shot.