Premed 101 Forums

Feasability of getting a dog during medical school?

Hello! I'm an incoming med student at U of T and I've really wanted a dog since forever. I was wondering if anyone has had experience with taking care of a dog during med school and what your thoughts are about feasibility and impact on med school experience. I have taken care of my friend's dog for shorter periods of time so I generally understand what raising a dog entails but short term is obviously very different from taking full ownership. Thanks!

So I have had dogs when growing up and there are alot of things to think about. 

With a puppy you have to think about potty training and those sleepless nights for the first few months. To give you an idea a puppy at 2 months has to go potty about ever hour or so in the day and most won't be potty trained until 6 months. So think of where you are living you won't want to damage a place you are renting. In addition it takes a few weeks until a couple of months for puppies to be sleeping through the night. 

As well, puppies can have a lot of energy, depending on the bread of dog you are looking at exercising it 1-3 hours a day, so say if you have class 9-5 you will have to come home to take it out or get a dog walker.  If you have family and friends who can help this makes it easier but make sure you can rely on them. 

The next big thing to think is about cost, since you are in medical school you will prob have an LOC to use but in general I would say the cost of a dog is a few thousand per a year. 

Thing to consider for cost: 

- the puppy (anywhere from 200-2000 depending on the breed you want)

- yearly vaccines (200+/yr) 

- vet visits (150+/yr) 

- food (500+/yr)

- basic dog stuff, toys, beds, leash, collar, crate (200+) 

Extra costs 

- Heartworm and tick medication (300+) all vets will recommend this and in the toronto area you probably want it 

- insurance (600+/yr) 

- dog walker 15-20$ per walk so