Premed 101 Forums

bhsc vs ba for applying to medical school 3rd year

Hi, if I was a student who was aiming to maximize my chances of going into medical school in 3rd year (and to an extent 4th year as well), would a bachelors of science be more advantageous than say a bachelors of arts or any other degree? I know people always say that the program doesn't matter and only gpa counts, but anecdotally it seems that those that apply from science programs (and have equally high gpas) tend to more successful at getting offers and interviews into med. Is this true or just a result of a comfounding variable + sampling bias? Thanks and appreciate it

10 hours ago, happychapter said:

Hi, if I was a student who was aiming to maximize my chances of going into medical school in 3rd year (and to an extent 4th year as well), would a bachelors of science be more advantageous than say a bachelors of arts or any other degree? I know people always say that the program doesn't matter and only gpa counts, but anecdotally it seems that those that apply from science programs (and have equally high gpas) tend to more successful at getting offers and interviews into med. Is this true or just a result of a comfounding variable + sampling bias? Thanks and appreciate it

I honestly believe it's just sampling bias. But there are few different factors that account for this:
- Peeps with BSc (or equivalents) have an easier time when it comes to studying for and taking the MCAT since they already take most/all the classes. They also don't have to worry about covering the bases with prerequisites (which is honestly all over the place in Canada).
- Surrounded by like-minded individuals, which might help for some more than others depending your personality and preference. Also gives access to EC opportunities since you have the connections.