Premed 101 Forums

Would it be okay to start practicing sutures before school starts?

I'm an incoming student and I'm dying from boredom so far this summer. I'm out of school and not working. I'm occupying my time with some activities like running and biking but I still have a lot of spare time. 

I am interested in surgery and would love to have some fun learning suturing techniques off of youtube and suturing kits. Would this be appropriate to do before starting school? I'm worried I'll get used to a specific technique and if I don't do it properly I might develop inappropriate habits. Should I wait until school starts?

I honestly don't think waiting a few months till school starts will make much difference (although I totally get your angst being cooped up at home being unproductive--I'm in the same boat). I'm so used to being a busybody that it's definitely a little disconcerting to just browse memes all day and sleep. It'll prob be the last time we'll be able to get a stress-free night of sleep for the next couple of years (especially if you're thinking of doing surgery!), so best enjoy. Also, not sure where you're located, but I've been trying to go hiking a lot since the weather's gotten better and workout as much as I can. I know that I'll get crazy busy once school starts and physical fitness is gonna go to crap again.

P.S. Oh hey, congrats on getting into med! I've seen you post on the forum for a while, so really glad to see you got in this year.

2 hours ago, RiderSx said:

I'm an incoming student and I'm dying from boredom so far this summer. I'm out of school and not working. I'm occupying my time with some activities like running and biking but I still have a lot of spare time.