Premed 101 Forums

Letter of Appointment and Resident Funding

Hey guys,

Background: I'm an internal medicine resident at NOSM. In February 2018, mid-way through PGY-2, NOSM's Vice-Dean abruptly and unilaterally placed me on leave, four days after I reported to her that I was sexually harassed by an RPC member. I have been unable to resume my training, since PGME has continuously thwarted my program's efforts to support my return and keep me safe while the case against my sexual harasser goes to trial.

Recently, I learned by way of a letter from NOSM's lawyer that PGME will not be issuing me a letter of appointment this year. As such, my residency will "come to an end" as of June 30, 2020 (and, consequently, my CPSO postgraduate training license will also expire as of that date). Note that I have not been dismissed from my program. NOSM is simply....ending (or declining to renew) my residency training contract.

1. Has anyone heard of such a thing before?
  2. I get that for transfers in Ontario, the funding stays with the PGME office. (See: https://cou.ca/wp-content/uploads/2017/10/Principles-for-Transfers-in-Ontario-Residency-Programs-October-2017-v2.pdf "MOHLTC funding is not transferrable between institutions") But I can't transfer programs anyway, since NOSM is terminating my residency contract.
  3. Since I was placed on leave mid-way through PGY-2, shouldn't I still have 2.5 years of funding left? (I believe internal medicine is funded as a four year program, fellowships are add-on funding).
  4. I'm assuming NOSM has to return those 2.5 years of funding to the MOHLTC? Or can NOSM simply fire me and keep my funding?
  5. Can I take my remaining 2.5 years of funding and finish my residency somewhere else?
  6. Can I apply in the first iteration of CaRMS?
  7. Re-entry program an option for me??