Premed 101 Forums

where to live

darcy101

Hello everyone, 

I am in a bit of a dilemma, hoping you guys could provide some advice. I am an incoming UBC med student this coming fall. I found two different places to live but I am having a bit of trouble picking between the two. I am an out-of-province student from Quebec. I am making a pretty big move so the home I choose will be my only home. 

Both these potential homes are in the same location, same price and same room. I will have my own bathroom, the only thing shared is the kitchen and the common areas. They are 2 different units of the same building. The only thing that is different is the roommate situation. 

Option one: 

- living with an upper year med student(one year ahead of me) who will be sharing her room with her younger sister who is going into an accelerated nursing program

+: upper med student (some guidance with school and probably help with networking [networking may be beneficial during covid?] )  

+: lease starts aug 1st (I plan to fly in sometime aug) 

+: an acquaintance of mine is living with med person's friend (a possible community forming)

- : sharing with her younger sister (one extra person to share with) 

- :  need to buy a desk and chair 

+/- : if things go well i can stay with the same med person until they graduate so may have the same home for the next three years but will have the smaller room 

Option two: 

- living with an 3rd year dental student only 

+ : better furniture than option one /  fully furnished 

+ :one less person to share with

-: lease starts sept 1st 

-: not same professional school 

+/-: dent girl may be moving out for 4th year so I can take her bigger room but will need to find a roommate 

Both potentials are nice and i got on with both of them. Some insight and advice would be appreciated