Premed 101 Forums

Second Year SFU student to UBC - worth it?

Hey guys, hope everyone's doing well!

I'm currently in a dilemma and thought to ask premed 101 for advice. I'm currently an SFU student entering second year. My question is, whether staying at SFU will put me at a disadvantage when applying to Canadian med schools. I have heard many people say this is not true, and also many people saying it is and that I should transfer out of SFU as soon as possible due to the different style of grading in classes (when compared to UBC classes for example). I applied to UBC and got accepted, however, many of my credits did not transfer over to specific courses, only as electives. I've been in talks with my advisors who said that I will need to redo a bunch of courses for my major (which will put me at first-year standing again). Basically, transferring to UBC is proving to be a hassle. However, because of the lower GPA I may have if I apply to UBC med from SFU, I am wondering if the hassle will be worth it down the road. If anyone could provide some advice during this time, I would really appreciate it!! My advisors have not been super helpful and I have no sense of certainty. 

Thanks in advance!

*I know this has been asked before but the questions were a couple years old and not sure whether the answers still really apply. 

The reality is somewhere in between. If you are looking only at the raw numbers, then yes UBC will scale your grade down. They do this by taking your letter grades and converting them into percentages as follows: https://med-fom-ugrad.sites.olt.ubc.ca/files/2012/08/ADM_grade_conversion_tables.pdf

This effectively caps your max grade at 95%, and these conversions are typically on the lower end of the equivalent range that SFU uses. You can likewise check the OMSAS grade conversion table for Ontario schools.