Premed 101 Forums

Quebec resident second undergrad and working full time

Hi everyone,

I need some brutally honest feedback because sometimes I feel I am too ambitious and dream too high. 

I am married and have toddler. In terms of career, I am an engineer and currently work in management consulting for one of the too consulting firms.

I have been thinking about medicine for a few years now however the maternity leave gave me the chance to really consider what I want in life. During my maternity leave I decided to apply for a second undergraduate degree to boost my GPA. FYI, my first degree GPA from engineering is 3.2. I have not gotten into the program and need to register for courses to start as of Fall 2020. This second undergrad degree would be 60 credits and I am hoping to get it done over 4 back to back semester including summer. My hope is to apply to medical school in nov 2021.

I am aiming to do all of this while maintaining full time work. Since courses are now online due to Covid,, I can probably manage this for a semester or two but am I really overextending myself to think I can work full time ( my job is very demanding) and study full time and get A grades in a full course load? My second undergraduate is exercise sciences.

As a side note, my partner is extremely supportive and has offered for me to take time off work if I need to but I prefer to work. I Wouldn’t want to burn bridges since there is no guarantee I would get into McGill.

What do you think? Am I on the right track? Or should I take a year sabbatical from work and just focus on my GPA? Any previous success soties would be great too.

Thank you,

Hi,