Premed 101 Forums

Cosmetic Procedures - Certification for GP

Hello peeps, I'm a 2nd year student and I'm planning to be a GP when I grad. I've recently seen a lot of GP clinics in Ontario offering simple derm. procedures (like laser hair removal, botox, Leg/facial varicose vein treatments), circumcisions or vasectomies. I was wondering If anyone know where I can find more info on how to get certification for those procedures?

ty for your help in advance guys,

• 4 weeks later...

There’s no official certification. You hang a sign and call yourself a “skin expert” and that’s all ....and of course manage any complications that come along with it. 

Of note, if cosmetics is the primary thing you want, you could also just become a nurse since it’s all unregulated.

• 11 months later...
On 8/19/2020 at 7:40 AM, ZBL said:

There’s no official certification. You hang a sign and call yourself a “skin expert” and that’s all ....and of course manage any complications that come along with it. 

Of note, if cosmetics is the primary thing you want, you could also just become a nurse since it’s all unregulated.

Sorry should of clarified, I was a 2nd year MD student when I wrote that. 

I find that there are a lot of procedures GP's can do with a long wait from the public system ranging from joint injections to vasectomies. Anyone else thinking of doing minor procedures privately ?

20 hours ago, GrAYthaiBOY said:

Sorry should of clarified, I was a 2nd year MD student when I wrote that. 

I find that there are a lot of procedures GP's can do with a long wait from the public system ranging from joint injections to vasectomies. Anyone else thinking of doing minor procedures privately ?