Premed 101 Forums

Picking the right undergrad

Hello! I am a grade 12 student in New Brunswick with a 4.0 gpa. I plan on going to medical school and considering I have to apply to a university soon, I decided to reach out and ask some of you for help. I was debating if doing my undergrad in the maritimes then applying to med school at MU or Dalhousie (as a Maritime applicant) would be better than going to a bigger school in Ontario/ elsewhere in Canada and then just apply to every medical school there.

Not sure if questions like this are appropriate for this forum, and if they aren't, please excuse me as I am not very familiar with this website. Thank you :)

4 hours ago, Alexandru4 said:

Hello! I am a grade 12 student in New Brunswick with a 4.0 gpa. I plan on going to medical school and considering I have to apply to a university soon, I decided to reach out and ask some of you for help. I was debating if doing my undergrad in the maritimes then applying to med school at MU or Dalhousie (as a Maritime applicant) would be better than going to a bigger school in Ontario/ elsewhere in Canada and then just apply to every medical school there.

Not sure if questions like this are appropriate for this forum, and if they aren't, please excuse me as I am not very familiar with this website. Thank you :)

the first and most important rule it doesn't matter what school or program you take or where you take it, what matters will be your GPA. You can apply to most of the Ontario schools with no disadvantage if you do your schooling in your home province. 

You may know as you mention your GPA but as a usual warning make sure you understand GPA - and learn how every single course matters (a single low grade trashes GPA) :)

Edited by rmorelan

8 minutes ago, rmorelan said: