Premed 101 Forums

Disciplinary Action 10yrs Ago...

So 10 years ago when I was a senior in my undergrad (Canadian University) I was involved with an academic misconduct - basically I wasn't prepared for a test as much as I would have liked in a course that I had failed previously. Because of that fear I didn't wanna fail it again and in the moment I had a major lapse in judgement and I changed the date on a previous doctors note that I had from when I was pretty sick and gave it to the prof to try and get more time to study. My prof called the clinic to check and discovered I had lied. I got a 0 in my class and was suspended for a semester.
I realize it was a really really stupid & very immature thing to do. I have no excuses for why I acted this way and I regret it immensely. I know I got what I deserved. Looking back, I clearly did not have the maturity or the discipline to handle university and lacked any kind of ethics or respect for the institution. My overall GPA from that school is also really low (like 2.6).

Since then I have completed another 4 yr undergrad degree and achieved a 3.95 cGPA WHILE working full-time & being a full-time student. I have about 5 years of professional work experience, as well as 5 years of community service (both hospital & community & vulnerable populations), as well as many years of solid clinic experience as well (both as a first aid volunteer & lots of shadowing). I have done both business & science research & have lots of international experiences to talk about. My MCAT is 520. I am currently completing my last year of an MBA program and planning on applying soon.