Premed 101 Forums

Is it possible to get in UBC med school with all degrees (a Bsc and a Msc) from China?

I am double Chinese/Canadian citizen who moved to Vancouver about 3 years ago for work. I have a Bsc and a Msc degree both from an quite competitive chinese university which is likely to be unknown to the admission committee anyways though. I have had good GPAs and  a good publication record but I am afraid the mere fact that my degree is from a foreign non-english speaking country may hinder me from getting into medical school here at UBC. Like they may just write me off without even looking deep into my achievements, etc. Are there anyone else here with similar experiences? Btw, the school is china was far more competitive to get in that UBC or any other school in NA (like 1 in 500 could get in) .

Any thoughts?

Thanks

13 minutes ago, neurologist19 said:

I am double Chinese/Canadian citizen who moved to Vancouver about 3 years ago for work. I have a Bsc and a Msc degree both from an quite competitive chinese university which is likely to be unknown to the admission committee anyways though. I have had good GPAs and  a good publication record but I am afraid the mere fact that my degree is from a foreign non-english speaking country may hinder me from getting into medical school here at UBC. Like they may just write me off without even looking deep into my achievements, etc. Are there anyone else here with similar experiences? Btw, the school is china was far more competitive to get in that UBC or any other school in NA (like 1 in 500 could get in) .

Any thoughts?

Thanks

First you have to get your credentials(Degrees) verified by a company like WES.   If they are accepted, and you get numerical scores, then that can make up your GPA portion of the application.

UBC values your non-academics for 50% of your pre-interview score. So everything else counts just as much, like work, volunteering, research, hobbies etc.