Premed 101 Forums

How can I apply to med school after doing Masters in Engineering?

About me: I am 30 years old, have Masters(thesis based) in engineering from India. I had been working for the past 5 years as a Web Developer. I recently moved to Canada (Toronto) as a permanent resident.

TL;DR: If I want to apply to med school, how can I go about it? I do not have the pre-reqs (as I did my undergrad and graduation in engineering) or any extra-curricular.

I have always loved biology and now want to pursue my interest in that field. It has been 10 years on-off since I have been thinking of switching my field but always got lost in the current situations of education, work and life.

Possible path: I am considering doing an undergrad in the field of biology, as I am not too sure about med school at this point. I do not want to make another career switch without being completely sure about it. I am partially eligible to apply to med school right now since I have a Masters, provided I do the pre-reqs 'somehow'. I want to keep my options open in case I want to do something in the field of Biology other than med school (or in case I do not get through med school). I am have done research only with regards to University of Toronto and University of British Columbia's criteria for MD program as of now.

I would appreciate anyone who can provide me with inputs. My main concerns at this point is:

1. I plan to align my courses for the first year (undergrad) in such a manner that I complete the pre-reqs for med school in first year,  in case I become sure of going to a med school at the end of first year. If I plan to discontinue the undergrad program, will the courses completed count towards my pre-reqs?  Does university give credits for the courses completed if a student drops/withdraws from the program?