Premed 101 Forums

Nursing as Premed

Hello everyone! I am currently a second year nursing student who happens to also be a pre-med! From my 2 years so far in nursing, I am not as competitive as other pre-meds in terms of GPA and preparation for the MCAT. This is because nursing is so subjective. It is like shooting for an A+ blindfolded. My pre-nursing years composed of solid science courses which I scored a perfect GPA in, and now that I am in the program, my GPA fluctuates. I have been toying with the idea to switch to a science major instead, but I think I will stick with nursing. Are there any tips to make myself stand-out or be more competitive? 

Hey! I don’t have advice but wanted to say I’m also a nursing premed, and wanted to wish you good luck :) GPA is definitely crucial from what I understand so if you really think you can’t get a competitive GPA, you’re in a tough situation, because nursing would be a great career to fall back on if ever medicine wasn’t happening right away. Best of luck!! 

• 2 weeks later...

I also did a BScN and am now going into my first year of medical school. Making sure you get the GPA up there is key. Otherwise, take summer courses to hit prereqs/do your MCAT sciences. If you can get your GPA to where it's competitive -- which, yes, can suck and be especially annoying because nursing has a lot of subjective grading -- you will be extremely well-suited as an applicant. You'll already have patient care experience, you'll have a better idea if the profession is right for you after all, and you'll hopefully have MDs/RNs who can give you a letter or two. Plus, all the ethical business will be second-nature to you. And, yeah, being able to work and make good money right after school is nice for while you're applying.