Premed 101 Forums

Quarantine law for Canadian students crossing U.S. border

Hi everyone,

I am a medical student studying in the U.S. but living in Canada (the medical school campus is very close to the Canadian border). My medical school is having 2 classes that are mandatory in-person (i.e. you can only receive credit by coming to these classes). 

I'm not sure if many of you are aware, but there was a recent addition to the Canadian quarantine act (see link below) which requires, that upon re-entry back into Canada, you must initiate a new 14-day quarantine cycle - which essentially puts you in a perpetual state of quarantine forever (or at least until the law is lifted). Essentially, I would have to stay completely at home indefinitely. 

I know of other students in my position and we all (or at least most) have family and research obligations during these trying times that will not be able to be accomplished if we are under indefinite quarantine. We are only free to cross the border to attend class, but everything else is off limits once we come back home. 

Living in the U.S. is a very difficult option at this point, considering the financial constraints brought on by COVID and the weak Canadian dollar. Not to mention the higher incidence/risk of COVID in the U.S.

After talking with the school, it seems the only option is a leave of absence. I tried advocating for remote options or coming in less often to fulfill these requirements, but this is not possible. 

This is a very difficult situation and I was hoping to gain some insight on what others think of this. Let me know your thoughts and/or suggestions.

Thank you!

Link: https://www.canada.ca/en/public-health/services/publications/diseases-conditions/covid-19-crossing-border-school-united-states.html

I'm sorry to hear that!