Premed 101 Forums

Virtual Physiotherapy?

Hi everyone! I’m a physiotherapy student myself at Mcgill University. I’m about to finish my graduation. I was going through various fields that I can focus on, and Sports medicine is what I think I can be good at. I’m a great sports enthusiast, and I think I can help the field. But the internet took me to this different sector called Virtual physiotherapy in Toronto. It’s an interesting idea which is now being greatly followed because of the pandemic situation. It’s like you can treat your patients via a smart device that is through video calls. But I’m not sure about the authenticity in the results that can be produced. Have anyone tried these out? Is it an ethical way to treat patients? If it’s right, I hope to practice it as a side hustle when I do my masters in Sports medicine. Enlighten me, people.

Exercise, activity modification, education, and reassurance are some of our most powerful and impactful skills/tools that we have as physiotherapists. What makes these even more powerful is that they can all be done remotely and do not require the use of our hands. Yes, we are in a hands-on profession - there's no way around that - but our hands are most certainly not the be-all and end-all of what we have to offer to our patients. In fact, the evidence base actually supports the use of the aforementioned skills I mentioned as the most effective interventions physiotherapists can provide to improve function, self-management, and quality of life of the people we serve.