Premed 101 Forums

Dental School to Medical School

I am currently a dental student in Canada looking into switching to a medical program, and I had a few questions regarding if this was possible? I lurked the forums and saw someone saying they won't take dental students half-way through because they're in a professional program. Wondering if this was true. I have my MCAT and letter of reqs ready to go.

Also, do medical schools count dental school GPA as undergrad? I saw the my Doctor of Dental Surgery program is considered undergraduate but is considered a professional program, so wanted to make sure.

Thank you.

36 minutes ago, PlantersCashews said:

I am currently a dental student in Canada looking into switching to a medical program, and I had a few questions regarding if this was possible? I lurked the forums and saw someone saying they won't take dental students half-way through because they're in a professional program. Wondering if this was true. I have my MCAT and letter of reqs ready to go.

Also, do medical schools count dental school GPA as undergrad? I saw the my Doctor of Dental Surgery program is considered undergraduate but is considered a professional program, so wanted to make sure.

Thank you.

That is incorrect. You can apply and be accepted to medical school, just like anyone else.  Multiple dental students in the past have done this no issues.  

Dental grades wont count though.

5 minutes ago, JohnGrisham said:

That is incorrect. You can apply and be accepted to medical school, just like anyone else.  Multiple dental students in the past have done this no issues.  

Dental grades wont count though.

That's a relief. Thanks for the quick reply by the way.

As for dental schools not counting in the GPA calculation, is that all medical schools in Canada? 

30 minutes ago, offmychestplease said:

I know a guy that did this a few years ago:

Graduated high school -> entered a Science program at university.