Premed 101 Forums

5 hours ago, passionateaboutmed said:

Hi, 

I'm a first year medical student in Ontario (I'm trying to remain completely anonymous for the potential backlash :(). Taking standardized tests and academics is my biggest strength (528 MCAT, 4.0 GPA in a very rigorous program). I was looking forward to take USMLE and get a good score for matching to USA, but in 2022 (which is when I was supposed to take USMLE step 1) it's gonna be pass and fail, which won't help me with matching. It's much harder for me to work on the other parts of the application that make me competitive than do a test (do electives in US, get great LORs from the faculty of those universities). Hypothetically, if I do a lot of independent studying aided with a lot of background in all the topics of USMLE because of my undergrad, is it even possible for me to take USMLE after my first year? aka in the last year that it offers scores.  I'm completely aware that I might end up not doing well but it's just a risk I'm willing to take as matching to a good program in US is not a necessity, just an added bonus if it happens (I have family members in USA, love some cities, etc). If I do bad, I'll just forget about it and focus on matching in Canada which doesn't require competitive test scores. 

One other issue I was thinking about is that the cohort that will be applying with me will have it as P/F. I would still be able to mention my score since I took it earlier but the majority will have taken it as P/F. 

I realize what I'm proposing is very unheard of and I wouldn't have dreamt of doing it they didn't change their system to P/F in 2022. I'm looking forward to hearing any other aspects I haven't considered. 

You’d be better asking this on StudentDoctor imo, as they’re far more knowledgeable about the US matching system than we do (I mean we’re a Canadian-focused forum after all...)

1 hour ago, robclem21 said:

Why do you want to do residency in the US?