Premed 101 Forums

Do I have a chance at NOSM?

Hello. I know NOSM looks for people from rural backgrounds specifically rural ontario. I'm from Newfoundland and both my parents are from extremely small towns (pop 500) in Newfoundland. I mentioned my experience visiting these towns and having family there. Also Newfoundland is obviously not considered rural but its not a huge metropolitan province either. Further, I have a masters researching addiction treatment and I mentioned in my application that NOSMs mission is to help vulnerable populations so I'm hoping that will help me too. Should I completely give up on the hope of this school if I'm not from rural Ontario though?

21 hours ago, Canadian123 said:

Hello. I know NOSM looks for people from rural backgrounds specifically rural ontario. I'm from Newfoundland and both my parents are from extremely small towns (pop 500) in Newfoundland. I mentioned my experience visiting these towns and having family there. Also Newfoundland is obviously not considered rural but its not a huge metropolitan province either. Further, I have a masters researching addiction treatment and I mentioned in my application that NOSMs mission is to help vulnerable populations so I'm hoping that will help me too. Should I completely give up on the hope of this school if I'm not from rural Ontario though?

I'm not super familiar with NOSM so take my advice with a grain of salt. First of all, you mentioned that NOSM favours rural Ontario but that isn't really true- they value way more living in a Northern town, even if it's not that rural (for example, living in Sudbury, with 160 000 people, is better than living in a 1000 person southern Ontario town). From what I've read on this forum, ~90% of people accepted are from Northern cities and 10% from non-Northern rural cities.