Premed 101 Forums

-

miniaturebeaker

Hey,

I did a nursing degree as my 2nd undergrad. I went to BCIT though (3 year program), a polytechnic institute, so some med schools in Canada don't count it because it's not a "university" degree (even though you still get a bachelor's). UBC med DID count my BCIT grades though. I recommend university nursing vs college or other institutes if you are still considering medicine down the road to open up your school options.

With that said, pros of BCIT was that it was easy to get high grades (90s+), lots of clinical hours, paid preceptorship, opportunity to take specialty courses. I'm not sure about marks or grading at UBC nursing. Some of my colleagues went to UBC - it is very condensed, no summers off I believe, less clinical hours, but you get it done quicker. Any differences in schooling evens out in practice. For UBC nursing, you can do employed student nursing as well (work experience while you're in school).

I'm not familiar with schools outside of BC, sorry! PM if you have any more questions :lol:

• 1 month later...
On 10/27/2020 at 6:47 PM, Raisin Bran said:

Hey there,
I'm considering the possibility of a 2 year post-degree nursing program down the road, and I'm wondering if anyone has any insight into quality, difficulty, pros, or cons of any 2 year Canadian programs? I was considering UofA, UofC, and UBC, but would love insight about any Canadian programs. Thanks!

U of T - very research heavy (at least it was in 2012 when I applied), they like to pump out nurse researchers / admin; if that's the route you want to take then they're good for that. You get a summer after June, but don't finish until June the year after as well (I think)