Premed 101 Forums

What can I do during pre-clerkship to increase my chances of matching into surgery?

Hey guys,

I'm a first-year med student, and my school isn't allowing any in person shadowing/observerships at the moment. I'm interested in surgery, and given how competitive it is, I want to start setting myself up for success as early as possible. 

I've heard mixed things in terms of research expectations, involvement in surgery-related clubs/initiatives, and practicing suturing early. Importantly, what can I do to start building connections early one? Also, in terms of research, how useful is it to publish on a non-surgical topic?

I'd really like to know what activities are worth engaging in, and which activities only provide a marginal benefit. Where should I be focusing my energy? 

Any input would be much appreciated

I've heard from upper years and staff that clubs and initiatives in general are of minimal benefits. Research and mentorship may be of more importance as pre-clerks, especially if you stay with your mentor long term and get a strong LOR from them. Surgical research is obviously preferred but I'm sure a first-authored paper in other specialties would still trump a third/fourth authorship on a surgical paper. Program directors love to say "we look for good doctors first, surgeons second". So the skills you gain would largely be transferrable and looked upon favorably. Suturing practice would help comes time for clerkship since you can impress preceptors.

Edit: while moderately competitive specialties like gen surg, ortho, and even potentially otolaryngology and ob-gyn may accommodate some flip-flop and mindchanging, things like ophtho, plastics and neurosurg probs would require really early commitments and any research efforts might be better spent in those exact fields. 

5 hours ago, DrOtter said: