Premed 101 Forums

Can anyone give me some advise if its worth it for me to continue applying?

Hi. I started my undergrad in 2011 and graduated in 2015. My first two years of university were poor and affected my GPA by a lot. My last 2 years were better and as such I got accepted into masters programs (since most only look at last 2 years). I still don't think my overall undergrad GPA is good enough for med school. My masters gpa is 3.8 and I have 4 first-author publications and 5 published abstracts (11 total publications) and over $35,000 in awards and scholarships/funding. I know my background is strong for academia but not med school. I'm working in research now but keep longing for medicine. 

Would I have a better chance getting into MD/PhD programs with my strong research background and lower GPA? Are there any schools that will drop courses taken as late as 2011? What schools include masters courses in GPA? Ive got my first rejection and I think Im getting discouraged now because I know the courses I took 10 years ago will probably be the reason I don't get in although I'm now much older and mature and know I am capable of medical school. 

Just now, Snowmen said:

It's hard to help you if you won't mention your GPA and breakdown. Also, regarding MD/PhD programs, my understanding is that you need to be accepted to the MD and PhD components separetaly so it wouldn't make it easier to gain acceptance.

Sorry! My first two years my average was like a 70 but the last two years its an 80. My overall average now is about a 75.

your research and scholarship CV is amazing. from what i see of your GPA it's much too low to be competitive in Canada because I don't think a 2.9-3 meets the minimum cutoffs to be considered. I think a couple years of a new undergrad degree with really good grades would 'erase' your first undergrad and would give you a really good shot. 

1 hour ago, medicallyricalmiracle said: