Premed 101 Forums

Best self-study MCAT books (non-science background)

Hi all, 

I have read MCAT prep book reviews as well as the forum and this is a topic that comes up over and over again. For my situation, which prep tests would you recommend me to go with: 

1. I have some science background (undergrad was in Psychology) but those courses date  back to years almost 10 years ago! I have not taken organic chemistry or biochemistry. So I definitely need to learn those materials. 

2. I can learn well independently and have a great discipline. I'm hoping that I would do good on the CARS section since from my understanding this section is an easier version of LSAT (hoping my law school education comes in handy).

3. From my research, I'm thinking of going with Kaplan+ Khan and then supplement with different prep tests that I can find.  Some suggested TBR to go through materials thoroughly, I thought sticking to one company might be better for me but I'm open to suggestions. 

Thanks

3 hours ago, pmn123 said:

@frenchpress Thanks! May I ask how much time it took you to be well prepared? Of course everyone’s schedule is different especially for non-traditional applicants.

I think I spent a lot less time than the average person - I had a full time job, so I studied evenings and weekends for 10 straight weeks. I had taken a biochemistry course just before that though, so thankfully I didn’t have to spend quite as much time on that topic. And I had an arts background, so I didn’t do I much CARs prep. I got a 514 - 126/129/129/130