Premed 101 Forums

Anyone with lower GPA successfully get into NOSM?

Hi all,

I have been lurking on this forum for a while. It’s been really nice to see actual interactions by likeminded individuals wading through the daunting application process. 

I have applied to NOSM this cycle. It’s been a long term goal of mine for the last 6 years and I finally applied. I’m 30, 4 kids, born and raised in a small town in Northern Ontario. Left for three years in my early 20’s but moved back as soon as we could. My background is in social sciences and I’ve been a business counsellor for Indigenous women, traveling all around Northern Ontario, including fly-in communities. I currently work in research for an Indigenous organization as the Chief Research Officer. I have decent ECs but my GPA isn’t great. I started university at 17, and had a rough couple years after we moved down east (near Ottawa). According to OMSAS my cGPA is 3.38, however, I do have a Masters degree, which puts me up to 3.58– still not great. I’m currently working on a second undergrad via Athabasca University (Bachelor’s in Health Administration) while I “wait” to get into medical school. This is absolutely my dream. The perfect profession and I intend to work and serve Northern Ontario until I physically can’t anymore. But I’m feeling pretty hopeless. So many people have competitive GPAs and I just feel like to recover my grades, it’s going to be a long and expensive journey, but I’m willing and committed to doing that. Even though it’s been INTENSE to keep up with family life, courses, and working. 

I’m reaching out for a little bit of hope. Does anyone know of anyone that got into NOSM with a lower GPA? I would appreciate any insight, words or encouragement or blunt advice!

Thanks in advance!

i don't know the gpa of anyone who got into NOSM.