Premed 101 Forums

Conflicted Pre-Med

MikeJ

I am having second thoughts about medicine. I am a second-year university student, and I thought that being a doctor was the career path I wanted to pursue, but now I am unsure, after experience more of life I realized there are other things I enjoy as well. I am supposed to write the MCAT this summer, as next year I want to do CO-OP for my degree (for a backup career). I feel like I will have a hard time doing internships next year while studying for the MCAT, and I feel pressured to write it now. I am lost and do not know what to do because I don't want to waste my time. I am volunteering at a hospital in a month, I hope that will provide some clarity for me, but then it will be very difficult to find an internship position on such late notice. I don't know what to do, and I am wondering if anyone has gone through anything like this and can offer some advice. Thanks. 

There were times in my life when I felt exactly the way you did.

Forget the future, what do you like to do now? What are your feelings telling you?

Perhaps you need to explore the things that are making you unsure about a career in medicine.

Medicine will always be there and you can always apply at a later time.

Whatever you do, your time will never be wasted. There’s always a lesson to be gained from anything that you choose to do. Perhaps along the way you’ll open other doors too.

Good luck!