Premed 101 Forums

NSERC USRA: Does cgpa include first degree?

epyfathom

Hi.  I have a poor 1st degree cgpa, but am doing well in my second degree.  I have never done research before, but would like to try it.

1) When considering the cgpa of the applicants, does the research institution/program (i.e. for usra) usually consider the cgpa of both degrees or just the 2nd degree?

2) How difficult is it to get a research position in biology if one is not undergoing a typical biology/chemistry/etc. program and does not have lab experience?

3) When emailing researchers about opportunities, does one need to come up with their own research topics or would the researcher help with this?

4) Is it acceptable to ask professors from different universities and make multiple applications for better chances or would this be frowned upon?

Thanks so much!

1) On the the website, it says to "include only current and past postsecondary programs" meaning you will have to submit your transcript for both degrees. Though no one really knows the weight they put on your previous degree... you'd have to contact them if it's really a source of anxiety for you. However, don't let your past performance stop you from applying; not everyone join their 'dreamed' program on the first application, and if anything, I'd say that your background is quite respectable as you got back on track and didn't let your past 'failures' stop you. (https://www.nserc-crsng.gc.ca/OnlineServices-ServicesEnLigne/instructions/202/USRA-BRPC_eng.asp)