Premed 101 Forums

Clinical Shadowing During Pandemic?

Hello! 

I am a non-traditional hopeful applicant to MD programs in Ontario, but I completed my PhD and Post-Doctoral Fellowship about two years ago and since then have been working with the provincial ministry of health -- in my undergraduate / graduate years (and even up until finishing my PhD) -- I had a fair amount of volunteering and was able to get some clinical shadowing spots with clinicians that I knew -- however, it has been a few years and before applying this Fall, I am feeling like I need to show more recent clinical shadowing -- of course with the pandemic, I am finding it hard (that is, I have not) reached out to any clinicians since they are likely not able to do this kind of "volunteer work" themselves -- has anyone been able to do any clinical shadowing during the pandemic or does anyone have any suggestions on how I could get some clinical volunteer hours while not burdening a local clinician?  

3 hours ago, plansformed2015 said:

Hello! 

I am a non-traditional hopeful applicant to MD programs in Ontario, but I completed my PhD and Post-Doctoral Fellowship about two years ago and since then have been working with the provincial ministry of health -- in my undergraduate / graduate years (and even up until finishing my PhD) -- I had a fair amount of volunteering and was able to get some clinical shadowing spots with clinicians that I knew -- however, it has been a few years and before applying this Fall, I am feeling like I need to show more recent clinical shadowing -- of course with the pandemic, I am finding it hard (that is, I have not) reached out to any clinicians since they are likely not able to do this kind of "volunteer work" themselves -- has anyone been able to do any clinical shadowing during the pandemic or does anyone have any suggestions on how I could get some clinical volunteer hours while not burdening a local clinician?