Premed 101 Forums

IMS University of Toronto, MSc Medical Science

Hi! On the IMS website, on the "Applying" page, I noticed that there is an early consideration deadline that was on February 1st, whereas the normal deadline for domestic student is June 15th (which seems really late). I was wondering if there were an advantages to early consideration? Do they get accepted sooner into the program, or are they simply notified during the first round of offers?     

Hi! I don't know too much in terms of detail, but I completed my MSc with IMS and I know I applied early and received my acceptance in May. I was also able to contact potential supervisors and speak with them early on to see if anyone I was interested in working with was taking on MSc students. Having a supervisor in mind or secured can help with your application, as far as I know (again, speaking from personal experience, so take this with a grain of salt). 

As well, the IMS department is really helpful and responsive. I would suggest emailing them if you had any concerns. My guess would be that the sooner you submit your application, the better your odds will be.

Best of luck!

On 2/5/2021 at 1:40 PM, SmallTownGal said:

Hi! I don't know too much in terms of detail, but I completed my MSc with IMS and I know I applied early and received my acceptance in May. I was also able to contact potential supervisors and speak with them early on to see if anyone I was interested in working with was taking on MSc students. Having a supervisor in mind or secured can help with your application, as far as I know (again, speaking from personal experience, so take this with a grain of salt). 

As well, the IMS department is really helpful and responsive. I would suggest emailing them if you had any concerns. My guess would be that the sooner you submit your application, the better your odds will be.

Best of luck!