Premed 101 Forums

Declining an offer to finish masters?

When I submitted my application to U of C back in October as a current MSc student, I had discussed a timeline with my supervisor and committee that was feasible (albeit tight) to finish in time if I was accepted. However, now I have an interview, but there have been a lot of setbacks with my research and I don't know if I would be able to finish my research, write and defend my thesis, and have my degree conferred (and move!) in time to start in July. 

I am working with my supervisor to make it happen, and there is obviously no guarantee of acceptance at this point - but in advance I wanted to know if people thought it would be a "death sentence" if I ended up with an admissions offer and had to decline in order to finish my masters thesis? It's important to me that I finish my research, but I want to know if people thought U of C would look down on declining an offer of admissions and then reapplying the following year?

I don't know what to do here.  

Don’t take this the wrong way as I’m sure you’re in the thick of it and working really hard on your Master’s right now but I would take the acceptance to med, assuming you get it. An acceptance to med has in my view greater long term professional value than finishing a master’s degree “on time“.

Maybe you could finish the master’s thesis on a part time basis over the next N years, parallel to med and in agreement with the faculty of medicine. Maybe you could do one year of med, then ask for a leave of absence to finish your master’s research. Maybe you could even finish all of med school and residency and wait till you’re a staff physician, then dial back to part time work and finish that master’s degree you’ve had cooking on the back burner all the while (if it’s still important to you then).