Premed 101 Forums

MMI Advice from a Previous Interviewer: How to Prepare for the MMI

P1234

6 years ago I applied to medical school for the first time and with the help of this forum I was accepted to my dream school. I am now a second year resident physician and I have had the privilege of serving as an MMI interviewer for the past 2 years and I wanted to pass along some advice to those of you who were in the same position as I was 6 years ago:

1. The key to success is practice. Some people will tell you you cannot prepare for the MMI, however as an interviewer I have seen how a lack of preparation can lead to a nervous, disorganized and poorly developed answer. You are not meant to memorize answers so you can give a rehearsed response, but rather practice a structure and approach to the common types of questions, learn about current events, practice your verbal and non verbal communication skills, practice being in situations that challenge you or make you uncomfortable. 

2. The best way to practice is to simulate the MMI as much as possible and practice with another person who can provide quality feedback. Find a group of peers and practice 2-3 times per week. Create your own unique questions relevant to current events and issues in healthcare. Time your answers and prep. Discuss what a 7/7 response would look like. Reflect on your responses. Give each other quality written and verbal feedback. I formed an MMI practice group on this forum with 15 other people. We practiced 3 days a week  leading up to the interview and dedicated one weekend to full length Mock MMIs. We always used a timer and provided feedback to each other. 9 of us were accepted our first year, the remaining 6 continued to practice and were accepted the year after.