Premed 101 Forums

really bad r score for first semester

kwrooo

Hello, i'm a college student and for my first semester, i got really bad r score (talking 28,5..) I feel lost and I skipped winter semester to study english and I'm still agonizing.. :(

Should I give up and register for fall 2021 in another school to start newly or I still have a chance to make it? 

12 hours ago, kwrooo said:

Hello, i'm a college student and for my first semester, i got really bad r score (talking 28,5..) I feel lost and I skipped winter semester to study english and I'm still agonizing.. :(

Should I give up and register for fall 2021 in another school to start newly or I still have a chance to make it? 

You cannot start anew at another school, once an R score is in your file, it's there forever, the only way you can "delete" it is by doing 50 credits or more at a university after your cegep.

12 hours ago, kwrooo said:

Don't worry, a lot of people were in your shoes and made it. I believe your best bet would be to continue your education and assess what went wrong and how you can fix it then actually fixing it is the hardest part. I also started out around that R score because of a big shock between barely working in high school and going to a super competitive CEGEP in my first session. It's always possible to raise it up, I was still able to go up about 4+ pts or so in 2 sessions just by trying a bit harder. That being said, you should know a bad session won't ruin all your chances to get into med school. Make mistakes, learn from them and better yourself. There's still university to catch up if you can't meet a high enough R score. Then after that, there are still options to make it to where you wanna be. It's a marathon, some people get in after cegep - others don't and need a bit more time to get in.