Premed 101 Forums

Think twice about matching to a residency program in Alberta.

I'm a resident in a training program in Alberta. The political situation is not looking so hot right now, and I wanted to share some information that I want you all to be aware of when interviewing here and when making your rank order lists. 

First of all, there is Bill 21, which allows the Ministry of Health to restrict prac ID / billing numbers as of April next year. It allows the government to restrict new doctors to only work in certain regions of the province. For instance, if the government deems there to not be a need for your given specialty in an urban area, they may decide not to grant you a billing number. Even if you grew up in Alberta, and trained in Alberta. Practically speaking, details of this are very uncertain right now, but what we know is that Bill 21 applies to all specialties, and most think that it will impact family medicine the most. The UCP government even advertise this front and centre: https://www.alberta.ca/physician-resource-planning.aspx Here's another article on this: https://cmajnews.com/2019/11/21/bill-21-practice-permits-1095835/. The most frustrating thing about this is that there is no guarantee that I will get a job in the city I live in here in Alberta, despite the fact that my family is here and that I trained here. 

The relationship between Alberta doctors and the government has deteriorated substantially in the last couple of years. There is talk of cutting physician fee codes, which may happen April of this year. They've already cut GP codes. Personally, I know a lot of doctors who have already moved away from Alberta, and there is very little trust that exist between doctors and the government.