Premed 101 Forums

How long does it take to study for the DAT?

I've written the DAT for 2 times now. Each time was during the school year so it obviously took more than a month to study. With the DAT being postponed this year, I am wondering if it would be realistic to study for the DAT over a month. I have nothing better to do during the summer break - I believe I can devote at least 6 hrs a day, if not more, and I am already familiar with the format as well. However, this is the first time I am studying for biology and chemistry portions of the DAT and I'm unsure how much time those portions need. Based on your experiences, do you think it would be realistic to be fully prepared for biology & chemistry over a month during summer? 

On 3/10/2021 at 9:06 AM, paper said:

I've written the DAT for 2 times now. Each time was during the school year so it obviously took more than a month to study. With the DAT being postponed this year, I am wondering if it would be realistic to study for the DAT over a month. I have nothing better to do during the summer break - I believe I can devote at least 6 hrs a day, if not more, and I am already familiar with the format as well. However, this is the first time I am studying for biology and chemistry portions of the DAT and I'm unsure how much time those portions need. Based on your experiences, do you think it would be realistic to be fully prepared for biology & chemistry over a month during summer? 

I took the DAT for the first time in November along with taking a full load (5 classes) and found that it took be about 2 months to study. I would think a month of studying without other things to worry about like classes would be okay. For the biology portion, the majority of it is just memorization. For the chemistry portion you are going to want to be comfortable with the major concepts and theories.