Premed 101 Forums

3 hours ago, atlrkmrb said:

This is my third draft because it got way too long, but I am an anxious human being who likes to be thorough. Please note that I am well aware of the pandemic and travel bans.

TL;DR at the bottom. I apologize for any spelling/grammatical errors as it's 4 am and my eyes are bleeding from this.

—————

Hi everyone, thanks for taking the time to read this.

Med school has been my dream since I was a kid, but I did terribly UofT where I'll be getting an Hon. B.Sc (double majored in East Asian Studies (focus in Japanese/Korean history) and Anthropology (focus in evolutionary (which is where the BSc comes from) and medical anthropology). My cGPA is in the toilet thanks to first and second year, but I'll be eligible for wGPA at: UBC (80% average... not ideal, but I'm a resident), Western (3.85+ 2YGPA), Queens (3.9+ 2YGPA), Mac (extremely unlikely but CARS and CASPer are strong points for me as far as I can tell), and Dalhousie. Really unique/solid ECs. MCATs are pending (will take this summer).

So, the issue.

I was fortunate in that my family was able to finance my entire undergrad degree, but living in Toronto long-term (as far as I can tell) will be impossible due to the almost unethical cost of living/housing here (this was trending on **DELETED** yesterday). I've been nervous about my future since there's no guarantee when it comes to med acceptances, and I have an even lesser chance than my peers due to my uncompetitive GPA and unique background. I was basically in despair for a while until my uncle suggested something I'd never considered: to do a masters (MPH in particular) abroad.