Premed 101 Forums

Hi everyone :) 

I'm a student from one of the prairies schools applying to IM this cycle. i was lucky to get some interviews including uoft and ubc (my top choices). I've never been to vancouver or toronto but I heard things about each city from residents. I really want to move out of the prairie for this next chapter of my life but im having a hard time deciding between these two schools in terms of ranking. 

Could you guys share anything you know about each program? I heard that uoft is notorious for being service heavy and not too collegial - but I also heard that it's easier to get into uoft sub-speciality if you do your residency there. Not too familiar about UBC but apparently it's service heavy too. Also the match rate for its residents was really bad this year..yikes

Thnx! 

Both Toronto and Vancouver have had more above average unmatch rates compared to smaller schools if you look across the years. Many different reasons for this. One is that many people candidates prefer to stay in the 4 year GIM program rather than match to a different city's subspecialty program. 

I wouldn't worry too much about the unmatch rates and how they affect your subspecialty candidacy. The most important variables in matching for the IM MSM match would be your clinical performance, professionalism, and research productivity in your subspecialty of choice. Applying broadly matters as well. 

Toronto is known for its excellent didactic teaching sessions and wealth of research opportunities. It is more service heavy. I don't like their sick call policy either. You can be activated at any time for call if a colleague calls in sick. Because the program is so large, often people activating the back-up call mechanism don't have as much of a care for how this affects their colleagues.