Premed 101 Forums

Advice on what schools to try for?

Hi everyone, 

I made a post a little while back detailing some of my concerns about starting the non-trad journey (feeling a little intimidated tbh!). At the time, I was thinking about taking an extra year of science courses to a) hopefully boost my GPA, b) help prepare for the MCAT, and c) show med schools that I am capable of taking a full course load (my undergrad was pretty much entirely part-time). 

I know that my biggest weaknesses right now are ECs, so I've decided not to do that extra year of classes (at least for now), and focus instead on ECs while studying for the MCAT alone. According to this plan, I will graduate from undergrad this spring and will have a full year to focus on ECs/MCAT.

I was reassured that UBC doesn't seem to negatively view part-time semesters during undergrad. I'm a BC resident and feel like UBC is my best shot. However, I feel like putting all of my eggs into one basket is a little risky. I've looked into some other schools (mostly Ontario), but I'm a little confused about whether or not I have a realistic shot for these schools, since my course load is all over the place. I know that UofT is out for now since I don't have the science prereqs. From what I understand, I might be in the running for some other schools, but without the various GPA boosters that are given to full-time students. Then again, I'm not even sure if I would be competitive with an 88-89% GPA as an OOP applicant... 

Just wondering if anyone has thoughts about this. I plan to apply as broadly as possible, but (based on grades alone) is UBC my best shot as an IP applicant with part-time classes? 

Thank you in advance for any advice/feedback! :)

Stats: 

• Spring 2016 (4 courses): 83.75%
  • 2016-2017 (8 courses): 90.00%
  • 2017-2018 (3 courses): 86.67%
  • 2018-2019 (7 courses): 90.00%
  • 2019-2020 (8 courses): 91.75%
  • 2020-2021 (3 courses): 91.33%

cGPA: 88.92%