Premed 101 Forums

What should I do with my summer?

Hello! I’m currently a sophomore pre-med student majoring in Neuroscience and Health and Society. I’m about to start the summer between my sophomore and junior years of undergrad. I’ve been given two opportunities for the summer, and I can only really choose one route to go with. I’ve been pretty torn on this decision for the past few days, so I’d appreciate guidance on what you all think would be the best choice for maximizing my chances of medical school admission.

Route 1
I’ve been accepted as a tour guide for the admissions center of my college. This is something I feel pretty passionate about, since I’ve always loved the idea of welcoming prospective students and families to our campus. It’s a part-time paid position which would allow me to also spend time engaging in clinical volunteering, shadowing positions, and MCAT preparation as well. The only thing is I’m not sure how admirable the tour guide position would look to Med School admissions committees. Additionally, I’d like to continue serving as a tour guide in the Fall and Spring semesters, and in order to do that, I have to serve as a tour guide over the summer per the policy of my school’s admissions department.

Route 2