Premed 101 Forums

I finished 5 years of my IM training in the UK and now I am planning to apply to CaRMS - FM or IM.  Now, I believe that I have skills and competencies to manage complex patients but my educational credentials are not being recognized. I'm currently 30 years old and debating whether to apply to FM or IM in CaRMS next cycle.  

If I go through the FM residency route - will I be able to see complex patient and work them up if I have competency to do so from my prior training. I'm interested in working-up complex patients in outpatient settings.  How are the billing codes in FM vs. IM? Will I be remunerated fairly if I work as a family doctor and try to work up complex patients or is it better to do the IM residency again to be remunerated fairly like an IM doctor.. I'd appreciate any insight.

8 minutes ago, averagemedstudent said:

I finished 5 years of my IM training in the UK and now I am planning to apply to CaRMS - FM or IM.  Now, I believe that I have skills and competencies to manage complex patients but my educational credentials are not being recognized. I'm currently 30 years ago and debating whether to apply to FM or IM in CaRMS next cycle.  

If I go through the FM residency route - will I be able to see complex patient and work them up if I have competency to do so from my prior training. I'm interested in working-up complex patients in outpatient settings.  How are the billing codes in FM vs. IM? Will I be remunerated fairly if I work as a family doctor and try to work up complex patients.. I'd appreciate any insight.

Can you provide more clarity?

You say "30 years ago" do you mean you finished your IM training 25 years ago?