Premed 101 Forums

Low GPA. Interviewed this year.

Making this post because I’m losing hope...

I’m 29 and have applied to UBC with 3 interviews in 3 years, with a 79.7% average with a 513 MCAT (130 CARS). Each time, I’ve gotten an above average interview score but despite that and my awesome experience, I cannot get over the hump. 

it pains me because I practiced with so many people who have great GPAs but don’t seem to actually understand social issues. Instead they can memorize whatever and get by on that because their marks are so great. And yet, I’m on the outside looking in despite the interview constantly going so well...

TL;DR: not sure I can take another rejection and losing hope/feeling loathsome that this year is going to be just like the last 2, and that I’ll never be able to become a doc despite the fact I know my stuff in a very deep way. I guess we’ve learned that the NAQ doesn’t matter after the interview...

EDIT: For those who will ask, I did a BSc, MBA, and the 1 year of data science program at UBC afterwards.

I don't have much to offer in terms of advice or solutions, but just wanted to voice support for the idea that the GPA focus in admissions is way overdone. The admissions process often doesn't value real experience and maturity, instead focusing on minute differences in MCAT or GPA scores which mean virtually nothing compared to the softer skills which can actually make for a competent doctor/someone who knows what hey want out of the field. I know that stuff is hard to objectively assess, but that doesn't make the numeric stats a good substitute. So above all don't take this ish personally, the process in this country is inherently broken and has a terrible amount of luck involved, and I wish you the best of luck in overcoming that. Good luck mate

Really sounds like a painful journey. How about your reference? Are you confident that they will provide very solid references?