Premed 101 Forums

internationally educated Canadian resident , transfer from pharmacy to medicine

Hiii ,I completed my pharmacy degree abroad egypt.Im currently in the process of studying to become a  licensed Pharmacist  in Ontario.  I hold a bachelors degree with a Gpa 3.03 and  wish to apply to medical school all over canada  , anyone in the same situation or was in the same boat can help me with any information? should i take another degree or Msc? is being a licensed pharmacist can help me in the medical school application? any thoughts, I'm not sure where to start, and do i even have a chance for application, any information is appreciated Will my international undergrad be taken into consideration if sent to WES and got evaluated ?

Your international undergrad is acceptable by most schools. You'll need to get your courses evaluated by WES. Your GPA is going to be a significant hindrance though. Some schools will only look at your 2 most recent full-time years (you'll need to look those schools up but I believe Western and Dal do), so if those were significantly higher than 3.03 then your chances improve a lot.

The kind of degree you have or whether you are a licensed pharmacist does not really matter. What matter more are the kind of experiences that your degree/profession have exposed you to. Interesting experiences from your educational background could be useful during the subjective assessments of your application (ABS entries in OMSAS, Top 10s at UofC, NAQs at UBC, or personal essay at Dal to give a few examples). You'll likely need to write the MCAT (most schools require it) and do very well (>510).