Premed 101 Forums

Likelihood of switching from Software Engineering -> Med school

Hello everyone,

I wanted to hear the thoughts of people much more knowledgeable in the med school application process than myself, about my potential chances of getting into med school if I were to attempt making the switch from the field I am currently in. A bit of background information about myself:

-I'm a resident of Quebec.

-English is my first language, my french would definitely need some work if I were to apply to french med schools, which I am willing to do.

-I'm currently around half way done my bachelors in Computer Science, with a GPA of 3.75/4.3 (Concordia Student).

-I have already completed all the physics pre-requisites, CHEM 1 & 2, and BIO 1, in cegep. I am therefore missing around 4-5 classes I believe. One of which, Human Anatomy, I plan on taking as my last general elective as part of my university degree.

-My Cegep grades are quite bad, I graduated with around a 30 r-score.

-Because of internships, switching from engineering, and generally being a young idiot (I failed a 200 level class but since it was a first year class was able to re-take it and scored well on it), I most definitely won't have completed my degree in the standard full-time student time frame, I've read for some Canadian schools this may be an issue.

Having internship experience under my belt, I find myself sometimes unsure in my career in tech, and so I hastily put together the following plan:

Work full time for 1-3 years, put money away and take the remaining 4 science classes I am missing as a night time student. Get some volunteering and/or shadowing experience in the medical field and then apply for med school. Generally speaking, how realistic is this plan? I prefer to work first for a few years because well I hate debt, and I always like being able to keep my options open.