Premed 101 Forums

What should I be doing this summer between MS1 and MS2?

Hi everyone, I am looking for a bit of guidance here. I don't have any medical family or upper-year friends to ask this question to so I thought I would pose it here: what exactly should I be doing over the summer between first and second year? Pre-covid, I likely would have been working my part-time job and continued to do my hospital volunteering and other volunteer projects but they have been cancelled for the last year now. I don't particularly have any interest in doing online-research either as I have no experience and to be honest I cannot spend any more of this year putting in 8-16 hour days in front of a computer. My part-time job is not related to medicine or health care at all (its essentially customer service-- but it makes me a lot of money in a short amount of time which is really important since I have not been able to work for over a year with the shut downs). Any advice would be super helpful. I feel like everyone and their grandma is working on grandiose research projects or somehow has in-person clinical work (even though we have been restricted from this, there seems to be ways around it if you know the right people). Should I/ must I pursue some sort of summer contract health care position/research position? Will it negatively impact my residency applications in the future if I just work my old job and make some time for some hobbies and virtual community involvement? Thanks for the input!