Premed 101 Forums

(good) Dilemma: masters at UofT before med school

Ive just graduated from my undergrad in Alberta with an Okkk GPA.. around 3.7 (first few semesters of undergrad were pretty rough since I prioritized sport but eventually got on the deans list and graduated with honours). I have 2 years of research experience, a co author publication coming in the fall, travel experience, and competitive sport background. I am due to take my MCAT this fall and I have recently been presented with a unique opportunity from a previous research supervisor to do a funded masters at UofT starting this September (most likely on the topic of cardiac oncology). 

I originally planned to take the MCAT, apply to Canadian med schools, then take the GAMSAT (Australian med school test) and apply to Australian med schools.

However, this has definitely shaken up my original plan. A part of me wonders if my EC's and a great MCAT score are enough to get an interview... another part of me wonders if I need that masters/experience to help me be a more competitive applicant not only for med school but potentially residency. 

I am also curious as to which medical schools will take into consideration my Masters and put me in this rumoured "separate pool of applicants"

A large con I have to accepting this masters is that if I don't perform well on the MCAT this fall... I will have to wait until after my two year masters to retake the test!

Would appreciate any insight and advice :)

Would you still maintain IP status for the UofA if you did a masters at UofT? I think you'd still count as IP for Calgary but if I remember correctly, UofA requires you to live in Alberta for a year during the admission cycle.

You'd get IP status for Mac after three years in Ontario but the other Ontario schools generally don't distinguish between IP/OOP.