Premed 101 Forums

Hi everyone, I'm a first year student at uWaterloo in the Health Science program. I'm really interested in the PA profession but I am a little worried because there's limited options in Ontario. I feel like it is really competitive and there is barely any information on the application process. I would love if those who have gotten an interview, or are currently in the program or are working as a PA can answer some of my questions. 

1. What were your 1100 hours for the PCE requirements? I mean, besides nursing/kinesiologist (anything that requires further schooling) 

2. I am currently working as COVID-19 screener at a hospital and I am wondering if this will count for the 1100 hours at UofT? I am also enrolled in a co-op program so I expect to have other jobs to satisfy the requirement e.g., pharmacy assistant, possibly research experience

I am worried because I know I will be competing with people who have thousands of hours of direct patient care experience. 

3. I am also hoping to apply to UofM PA program as well, but I am not sure how the competitive the application process will be as an out of province student. Can someone give me some insight on applying to UofM as an Ontario student? 

• 4 weeks later...
  • 5 weeks later...

I am definitely not the best person to answer this question, but I can see that it hasn't been answered for quite some time so I will tell you what I know. 

1. I personally haven't applied yet but I have talked to some PA students and prospective PA students and they have told me some of the things they did. Some things I hvae heard for PCE are clinical research assistant/coordinator, sleep technologist, x ray technologist, kinesiologist, RN, massage therapist, mental health counsellor among others.