Premed 101 Forums

What advice would you give to an M1 who has an idea of the speciality they want to go in to?

I'm 95% sure I want to go into internal medicine. My sub-speciality interests are cardiology and geriatric medicine.

I'm incoming to Western and have no clue what I should be doing - I have no family/friends in medicine at all so this is all brand new to me. I constantly feel like I don't know something everyone else does and when it comes time to match I'm going to go unmatched and become a statistic.

Should I find out who the internists and cardiologists are at our local teaching hospital and ask to shadow them? How does one get involved in actual research where you are listed as an author (I have no clue, I have no research experience)?

1 hour ago, alrightythen said:

I'm 95% sure I want to go into internal medicine. My sub-speciality interests are cardiology and geriatric medicine.

I'm incoming to Western and have no clue what I should be doing - I have no family/friends in medicine at all so this is all brand new to me. I constantly feel like I don't know something everyone else does and when it comes time to match I'm going to go unmatched and become a statistic.

Should I find out who the internists and cardiologists are at our local teaching hospital and ask to shadow them? How does one get involved in actual research where you are listed as an author (I have no clue, I have no research experience)?

you know knowing people in medicine isn't as big of an advantage as it is made out to be - in part because there are a ton of steps to help equalize. 

FIrst as you know cardiology and geriatric medicine are sub specialities you will be applying for 6 years from now. Getting into internal medicine would happen first and that has a high match rate if you do it properly.